The Tryon Hounds Present the Trip Hoffman Scholarship


The Tryon Hounds is proud to present the Trip Hoffman Scholarship for foxhunting enthusiasts in Polk, Henderson, Rutherford, Spartanburg, and Greenville counties for the 2022-2023 hunt season. The scholarship helps with the cost of membership in Tryon Hounds for one season.

Trip Hoffman was a Tryon resident and beloved riding member of the Tryon Hounds for decades. He also served on the Tryon Hounds Board of Directors and was the hunt club’s social committee chairman for many years. Trip was always impeccably turned out in the hunt field and was always willing to support the hunt whenever asked.

"We are grateful to the Hoffman family for providing the seed money that helped to establish this fund", said Bonnie Lingerfelt, Joint Master of the Tryon Hounds. "It is a wonderful way to honor Trip and support his love for the Tryon Hounds and the long standing tradition of riding to hounds".

Anyone can donate to the fund and will be recognized on the Tryon Hounds website. Donations can be mailed to the Tryon Hounds c/o The Trip Hoffman Memorial Fund, PO Box 112, Tryon NC 28782. 

Recipients of the Trip Hoffman Memorial Riding Scholarship will must meet the following criteria:

Applicant has fox hunted before.
Applicant has an appropriate horse.
Applicant is willing to donate 25 hours per year to the hunt.
Applicant demonstrates a need for the Scholarship (evidenced by income).
Applicant has two member sponsors.

The amount of scholarship may vary, but will be no lower than $500. The deadline for the 2022/2023 hunt season is September 14, 2022.  Applications are available here.

The winning applicant(s) will be chosen by the Tryon Hounds Masters, Huntsman and President of the Board of Directors.

Interested parties should contact Susan Haldeman at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Thanks to the following contributors to the Trip Hoffman Memorial Fund

Mr. and Mrs. Michael Axelrod
Ms. Rebecca Barnes and Mr. Richard Webel
Mr. And Mrs. John Boyle
Ms. Jackie C. Burke
Ms. Stuart Evans
Ms. Karen Graham
Mr. and Mrs. Stephen Hedges
Mr. and Mrs. Bert Hesse
The Hoffman Family
Ms. Lydia Kellett
Ms. Donna Kelly
Mrs. Harriet Pierce Lewis
Mr. and Mrs. Charles Lingerfelt
Mr. and Mrs. Ian McDonald
Mr. James Mayo
Dr. and Mrs. Dean McKinney
Ms. Rhonda Mealor and Mr. Richard Taylor
Ms. Cynthia Milligan
Ms. Pamela Minnick
Mr. Nelson Minnick
Mr. Wes Moore
Mrs. Towles Napper
Mr. and Mrs. William Nichols
Mr. Ron Piccari and Mr. John Ross
Mr. Anthony Price
Col.L. Stephen and Dr. Jo Quatannens
Mr. and Mrs. Russell Rabenstein
The Rice Family
Mr. James Ritchie
Mr. and Mrs. CR Stanley
Mr. and Mrs. James Sumrell
Mr. Alan W. Van Wieren
Mrs. Madelon Wallace
Mrs. Judy Warden